3.3 Provincial and territorial governments

3.3.1 Provincial governments

In each of the provinces, the Queen is represented by a Lieutenant Governor appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Lieutenant Governor acts on the advice and with the assistance of his Ministry or Executive Council which is responsible to the legislature and resigns office under circumstances similar to those described concerning the federal government.

The legislature of each province is unicameral, consisting of the Lieutenant Governor and a Legislative Assembly. The Legislative Assembly is elected by the people for a statutory term of five years but may be dissolved within that period by the Lieutenant Governor on the advice of the Premier of the province.

Sections 92, 93 and 95 of the British North America Act, 1867 (Br. Stat. 1867, c.3 and amendments) assign legislative authority in certain areas to the provincial governments (see

Chapter 2).

Details regarding qualifications and disqualifications of the franchise are contained in the Elections Act of each province. In general, every person at a specified age (18 to 21 years) who is a Canadian citizen or (in certain provinces) other British subject, who complies with certain residence requirements in the province and the electoral district of polling and who falls under no statutory disqualifications, is entitled to vote. Voting privileges are given to persons in Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta at the age of 18 and in Newfoundland, Nova Scotia and British Columbia at 19 years.

3.3.1.1 Newfoundland

The government of Newfoundland has a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a. House of Assembly made up of 42 members elected for a term not to exceed five years. Since April 2, 1969 the Lieutenant Governor has been the Honourable E. John A. Harnum, The Legislature, elected March 24, 1972, is the 36th in the history of Newfoundland and the eighth since Confederation. After a by-election in November 1973, 32 Progressive Conservatives, nine Liberals and one member of the New Labrador Party held seats in the House.

The Premier receives a salary of \$19,000 and Cabinet Ministers \$12,000 per annum, plus a car allowance of \$2,000, sessional indemnity of \$8,000 and a travelling expense allowance of \$4,000. Each member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$8,000 plus a travelling and expense allowance of \$4,000. The Leader of the Opposition receives an addi-

tional allowance of \$12,000.

The Executive Council of Newfoundland as at December 31, 1973

Premier, Hon. F.D. Moores

President of the Council, Hon. Dr. T.C. Farrell

Minister of Justice, Hon. T. Alex Hickman Minister of Finance and President of the Treasury

Board, Hon. J.C. Crosbie

Minister of Education, Hon. G. Ottenheimer

Minister of Transportation and Communications,

Hon. T.V. Hickey

Minister of Social Services, Hon. A.J. Murphy

Minister of Health, Hon. Dr. A.T. Rowe

Minister of Industrial Development, Hon. C.W.

Doody

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Hon.

H.R.V. Earle

Minister of Manpower and Industrial Relations and Minister of Public Works and Services, Hon. J.G. Rousseau, Jr.

Minister of Provincial Affairs and Environment, Hon. G. Dawe

Minister of Fisheries, Hon. H. Collins

Minister of Tourism and Minister of Rehabilitation and Recreation, Hon. T. Doyle

Minister of Mines and Energy, Hon. Leo Barry

Minister of Rural Development, Hon. J. Reid Minister of Forestry and Agriculture, Hon. E.

Maynard

Minister without portfolio, Hon, William Marshall.

3.3.1.2 Prince Edward Island

The government of Prince Edward Island consists of a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The present Lieutenant Governor is the Honourable J. George MacKay, appointed effective October 6, 1969. The Legislative Assembly has 32 members from 16 electoral districts who may serve for a statutory term not exceeding five years. Each district elects two representatives to the Legislature. The 52nd Assembly elected May 11, 1970 consisted of 27 Liberals and five Progressive Conservatives; as at December 31, 1972 party standings had changed to 25 Liberals and seven Progressive Conservatives.